There are 6 phases in STLC:


A) Requirement Analysis

Once the pre-defined set of features are incorporated within the software, it is the time to test these features on the basis of performance. Quality Assurance team or an Individual Tester performs requirement analysis with the client/stakeholders to understand the specific business requirements and expectations that these features are expected to perform.

B ) Test Planning

Second step of STLC is to plan the testing strategy and a scope document is prepared. In this document each and every aspect of testing is mentioned-right from members of the testing team, to equipment/testing tools and budget.

C) Developing Test Case

In the third phase of STLC, test cases are created. Every case defines testing inputs/data, process, conditions of performing test, and anticipated results. Team makes sure that the developed test cases are transparent, efficient, and adaptable.

D) Test Environment Setup

In this phase, testing is done to validate the product. Here the testing environments are configured, deployed and smoke test is performed to ensure that environments are working as expected with all intended functionalities.

E) Test Execution

At test execution phase, features of the software product are tested in the deployed environment, using the deployed test cases. Expected test results are compared and results are collected to report back to development teams.

F) Test Closure

After the real time validation of product features, finding and fixing bugs, it's time to document all the details- total cost, matrix, results and reports.